11 Things I learned in My First Year of College!

Yayyy! It’s summer! Thank goodness because I don’t think my brain could handle anymore chemistry. Well I decided to write this post for my friends back at home who are going to college next year and for my fellow followers who might be as well (or for those who just can relate with me). I will be uploading a Life Update soon about what my summer academic plans are – so stay tuned… or reading.. I’m not sure what you would say for a blog but you get my point.

1. Waiting Last Minute to Study For a Test is Not a Smart Idea

I learned this from my first exam in college – an intro to psychology class to be exact. I studied an hour the night before my exam thinking it would be easy but it wasn’t. After that I would take at least 2 hours a day for 2 days for any test or quiz. It also didn’t help that I had the worst psych professor at the college who is currently rated a 1.5/5 stars on rate my professor (I didn’t know this website was a thing until the end of 1st semester… I highly recommend using it).

2. Ask For Help

I mean this in two ways. Ask your upperclassman friends what professors to have and if they can help you with a subject you are struggling with. Also, don’t be afraid to go to tutoring if your college offers it. I was embarrassed to ask for help at first (stupid chem) but the tutors are really nice and helpful. Plus it is more embarrassing to do bad on a test because you didn’t ask for help.

3. Don’t Let the Stress Get to You

LOL I let stress get to me all the time. But seriously, college can make you feel stupid – like really stupid. Just take it day by day and plan out what you are going to do on each day so you feel more organized. I am a forgetful person, so I use my agenda to keep track of things. If all else fails, go get ice cream at the end of the day with your roomie because you deserve it.

4. You Don’t Have to Party to Have a Good Time

Most of my friends here don’t party. I have never had a drink in my life but I still have fun. Movie nights and game nights can be just as fun if not more fun than being in a crowded house/bar with sweaty smelly drunk people, it just depends how awesome your friends are.

5. Nobody Cares What You Wear – Thank Goodness

College is different from high school in a good way. For instance, I can wear whatever I want without people judging me because it is college and most people wear athletic clothes or something comfy. And if they do judge – I probably won’t see them after the semesters over and they are probably just jealous because I’m comfy in my sweatpants while they are wearing some complicated outfit.

6. You Will Miss Home

I always took my little small town for granted and I couldn’t wait to leave even though I was going to another slightly larger small town. I couldn’t wait to move into a dorm and have my own space. Don’t get me wrong I love college living but it’s nothing like home. I miss my dogs sooo much and I miss my parents too. Like moms home cooked meals are sooo much better than my dining halls food.

7. You Are Going to College to Get a Degree Not a Husband

LOL this is advice from my mom. Worry about yourself first and your grades. Don’t be looking for guys right when you get to school – that should be the last thing on your mind. Within time you will run into someone by accident – you just got to be patient and not worry about it (it worked for me 🙂 ). And if you were hoping to find someone your freshman year but didn’t – don’t worry God is saving someone special for you. Tip: you don’t need a guy – just go get some ice cream and french fries… “fries before guys”.

8. Freshman 15 Can Be a Myth

If you work hard enough and make time to workout – you shouldn’t gain the freshman 15. You just need to balance your food with the fitness you are doing. And if you do gain weight – it’s okay! You are all beautiful the way you are! I can’t stress this enough! Every girl in the world should know they are perfect the way they are and shouldn’t feel that they need to change for anybody but themselves.

9. Afternoon Classes Suck

I know a lot of people will disagree with me on this but I hate afternoon/evening classes. I would rather have my classes in the morning so I can do homework before and after practice (or take a nap). I have an anatomy class from 6 to 9:30pm next semester… I think I might have to start drinking coffee. I would rather have an 8am lab just to get it over with.

10. Laundry

My mom taught me to separate my clothes into different piles according to colours and what temperature of water to wash it in. I only did this the first couple of weeks but then noticed that it took too long so I just threw everything into one washer and one dryer. Don’t put too much soap in the washer… or it will bubble out everywhere on the floor – I had to learn this for myself. I also learned to set a timer that way no one takes your clothes out for you. My dorm only had 5 washers and 4 dryers so figure out which day people don’t do laundry on.

11. College is Your Time to Shine

College is your time to figure out who you are and to get to know yourself more. This can go down a really good or bad road so make your decisions wisely (I know it can be hard to make a decision so call mom or dad if you need help). College is an incredible experience that we shouldn’t take for granted. Make mistakes, learn from them and then move on. And when you do something awesome, pat yourself on the back but like Tim Mcgraw says “Always stay humble and kind” and help the ones behind you. This is the time to figure out who you are, so you might as well have fun while you do it!

Maggie (:

Don’t forget to leave a comment, hit the like button, or follow me (:

One thought on “11 Things I learned in My First Year of College!

Leave a Reply

