It Will All Be Worth It!

Hey guys! I was going to post this last week but I was busy with track and kind of forgot to post it. Last week was a rough one but there is always a rainbow after the storm. This week has been pretty good and I have had little to no homework, so I have been getting ahead on some assignments this week! I decided I still wanted to post this because college is not always fun and enjoyable and people need to know that. So if you are curious to read about one of my bad weeks then keep on reading…

College is rough, I’m not going to lie. Last week I felt like I was buried 10 feet deep in stress. I had about 4 hours of homework on Monday which means I was working on homework from 6:30 to 10:30 at night. Tuesday I also did 4 hours of homework which consisted mostly of studying for Chemistry. Wednesday on the other and I got a little bit of a break with only 3 hours of homework. Prepare yourselves because I am about to get real here…

Sometimes college makes you feel stupid. I was a straight A student in high school who was a little bit of a perfectionist when it came to my grades. In college I have learned that it is a lot harder, especially when I am taking sophomore classes when it is my first year of college. I have felt a pressure on my shoulders all year because to me I think I need the perfect GPA to get into graduate school – but I don’t. I have had my fair share of mental breakdowns (stupid chemistry) but so has almost every college student. Sometimes you feel like you are just stuck in a rut and you can’t get out but that’s life. Not everything is going to be good all the time and nothing/nobody is perfect.

But there is a rainbow after the storm and that for me was on Wednesday. I had my meeting with my advisor to schedule classes for next semester. She gave me good news about my future and said I was on the right track for graduate school. I had plenty of people telling me I would be okay, but to hear it from someone who works with other pre-physical therapy students and knows how the application process works, made me feel a lot better about my future. It honestly made my whole year. It’s nice to know that the countless hours you put in are paying off.

So here is my advice to the freshman entering college fall 2017: It’s going to be very hard. You will have your ups and downs and you will have a fair share of tears and smiles. You just have to push through the hard times because there is a light at the end of the tunnel. I also recommend that you guys try not to get in your head too much. I overthink a lot and that’s what gets to me. Your biggest enemy is yourself but you just have to stay positive. After I have a rough week I like to go home. It helps me to relax and see my family and dogs. It also helps to surround yourself with people who get it and are supportive. My parents and sister are my number one fans. The rest of my family also supports me no matter what. They are proud of me and they can see all that I have accomplished even when I can’t see it myself. My boyfriend is one of the most patient, kind and caring people I know and is there for me through my rough weeks and I couldn’t ask for more. He knows me well that I don’t even have to ask for hug, he just knows when I need one. Surround yourself with friends who are going through the same thing. I know I can always count on my friends and teammates to put a smile on my face during a bad day. Also, find an outlet to help take your mind off things, mine is running but you could do anything other than school work. If you only focus on school work, you will be stressed out to the max. I just hope and recommend that it’s something beneficial instead of something that can hurt your health (partying).

Everything gets better in the end. I sometimes don’t believe that myself but it’s true. When life knocks you down, you just have to get back up again because in the end it will all be worth it. Every tear and stressful night will all be worth it someday. Take it one day at a time. It’s all going to be okay someday.

Hope you enjoyed this post. Have a happy Easter!

Thanks for reading,

Maggie 🙂

Leave a Reply

