My First College Track Meet (Outdoor)

Hey guys! Sorry I didn’t post last week… I was in Georgia for my first track meet! This week I will be uploading 2-3 posts though because I have a lot to share.

So in high school I was a sprinter. I ran 100m to 400m and the relays for those. I never ran anything over a 400 on the track. So last week was a bit different. I ran the 1500m which was actually fun. I like the length of the race and I feel like I can improve in this race a lot by improving my workouts. It was a bit different because instead of running one lap around the track I was running 3.75 laps. My time was okayy, I definitely want to improve on it but my coach was happy with it.

The bus ride was lonnnggg. We left at 6:30am on thursday of last week and got there around 5:30pm. I slept most of the way but my legs were cramped up. The ride home I think was worse because I forgot sunscreen (oops) and was very burnt so it was uncomfortable on the way back. We didn’t get back to my campus until 4 in the morning.

On the other hand, it was a lot of fun. I love hanging out with my team and we ran around the campus (Emory University). The campus is soooo beautiful. Although I wouldn’t want to run there all the time because it has a lot of hills (lazy distance runner problems). I love the atmosphere of track and cross country. I like being able to watch different events and the mixed feeling of nerves and excitement. It was a fun trip and good team bonding experience.

One of my best friends from high school also ran at the meet! He’s a sprinter and got probably as much sunburn as I did because he forgot sunscreen too. I have known Tyler since elementary school… I think… well let’s just say I have known him for awhile. I miss running with our high school team so I was really happy to be able to cheer him on once again even if I was cheering for a different team.

My next meet I think is out of state. I will keep you guys posted. Comment any questions!

Thanks for reading,

Maggie 🙂

Leave a Reply

